arrow-circle arrow-down-basicarrow-down arrow-left-small arrow-left arrow-right-small arrow-right arrow-up arrow closefacebooklinkedinsearch twittervideo-icon

دليل‭ ‬لرؤساء‭ ‬البلديات

آخر تحديث:
٢٠/١١/٢٠٢٣
تاريخ النشر:
١٣/٠٩/٢٠٢٣

شكر‭ ‬وتقدير

تود وحدة إدارة شبكة المدن القوية أن تشكر العديد من رؤساء البلديات ومسؤولي المدن الآخرين الذين ساهموا في هذا الدليل من خلال المقابلات والمناقشات والاستطلاعات أو خلال أنشطة المدن القوية. شكر خاص للأونرابل أليسون سيلبربيرج، عمدة الإسكندرية السابق، فيرجينيا، الولايات المتحدة (2016 – 2019)، الذي قدم التوجيه والدعم النقدي طوال صياغة هذا الدليل.

أصبح هذا النشر ممكناً بفضل الدعم السخي الذي قدمته وزارة الشؤون الخارجية والتجارة الأسترالية والاتحاد الأوروبي ووزارة الخارجية الأمريكية. الآراء المعبر عنها لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء أعضاء شبكة المدن القوية في مجملها ولا آراء الجهات المانحة للمدن القوية أو الشركاء الآخرين. الآراء المعبر عنها لا تعبر بالضرورة عن آراء أعضاء شبكة المدن القوية في مجملها ولا آراء الجهات المانحة والشركاء والمؤيدين لها.

معهد الحوار الاستراتيجي (ISD)

عمل معهد الحوار الاستراتيجي (ISD) مع رؤساء البلديات والشركاء الحكوميين لإطلاق مدن قوية في اجتماع خلال افتتاح الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في عام 2015. منذ ذلك الحين ، وسعت ISD ودعم عضوية المدن القوية وقدمت برامجها. تواصل ISD استضافة وحدة الإدارة وتساهم بأبحاثها وخبراتها لتلبية احتياجات السياسات والممارسات للمدن والحكومات المحلية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

حول هذا الدليل

تعمل شبكة المدن القوية بشكل وثيق مع رؤساء البلديات 1 على مستوى العالم منذ إطلاقها في عام 2015 لتعزيز القيادة المحلية في منع الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب والاستجابة لها 2 . خلال هذا الوقت، تحدث العديد من القادة المحليين عن مدى شعورهم بعدم الاستعداد وعدم الدعم لمعالجة هذه القضايا في مدنهم والرد في حالة وقوع هجوم. وأشاروا أيضًا إلى الفرص المحدودة للتعلم من رؤساء البلديات الآخرين الذين قادوا مدنهم خلال مثل هذه الحوادث.

وقد شارك رؤساء البلديات مجموعة واسعة من التحديات. بالنسبة للبعض، يبدأون بالاعتراف بأن معالجة الكراهية والتطرف لا تشكل (أو لم تكن) أولوية بالنسبة لهم، إما لأنها لم تعتبر تهديدات مباشرة أو أن رؤساء البلديات لم يكونوا على دراية بالدور الذي يمكن أن يلعبوه عندما يكونون كذلك. ويواجه آخرون تحديات تقنية وولايات محدودة ونقص في المعرفة والخبرة والموارد اللازمة للتعامل مع هذه التحديات.

على الرغم من أن التهديدات المحددة قد تختلف من مدينة إلى أخرى، فقد سمعت منظمة المدن القوية من رؤساء البلديات على مستوى العالم أنهم بحاجة إلى مزيد من التوجيه بشأن مجموعة من التدابير الوقائية التي يمكن أن تقلل من احتمالية وقوع هجوم بدافع الكراهية أو التطرف أو وقوع حادث ذي صلة والاعتبارات لتخفيف الضرر (سواء كان اجتماعيًا أو اقتصاديًا أو سياسيًا) الذي يمكن أن يلحقه بالمدينة. كما أعرب رؤساء البلديات أيضًا عن رغبتهم في المزيد من الفرص للتعلم من نظرائهم، وخاصة أولئك الذين قادوا مدينتهم خلال مثل هذه الأزمات.

يلتقط هذا الدليل هذه التجارب ويجمعها بطريقة يسهل الوصول إليها لرؤساء البلديات والقادة المحليين الآخرين الذين يعملون في جميع السياقات، سواء كانوا يتولون مناصب لأول مرة أو يعملون على جعل معالجة الكراهية والتطرف أولوية أكبر في مدينتهم.

الغرض من هذا الدليل هو المساعدة في إعداد رؤساء البلديات للتصدي للتهديدات الناجمة عن الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب والمعلومات الخاطئة والتضليل وسرديات المؤامرة التي تغذيها بشكل متزايد. ويؤكد على أهمية اتخاذ تدابير استباقية من خلال اتخاذ تدابير وقائية لبناء مدن متماسكة اجتماعيا ومرنة والاستجابة بطريقة تقلل من التداعيات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وغيرها من التداعيات التي يمكن أن تنتج إذا ظهرت هذه التهديدات في شكل أعمال عنف. يقوم هذا الدليل بذلك عن طريق:

  • معالجة الأسئلة الرئيسية التي قد تكون لدى رؤساء البلديات حول التعامل مع هذه التحديات، سواء أثناء الاستعداد لتولي مناصبهم أو أثناء أداء واجباتهم.
  • استكشاف نقاط القرار الرئيسية لرؤساء البلديات سعياً إلى الوقاية والاستجابة عندما تتجلى هذه التهديدات في أعمال عنف.
  • تبادل الممارسات الجيدة والدروس المستفادة من رؤساء البلديات الآخرين، بما في ذلك تلك المتعلقة ببناء مدن مرنة ومتماسكة في سياقات مختلفة.

من قبل رؤساء البلديات لرؤساء البلديات

يعتمد هذا الدليل على تجارب وتوصيات رؤساء البلديات للتفكير في دورهم الفريد في معالجة مجموعة التهديدات المحلية والمترابطة بشكل متزايد. لتطوير هذا الدليل، قامت وحدة إدارة شبكة المدن القوية بإجراء مسح وإجراء مقابلات وإجراء مناقشات جماعية ومائدة مستديرة مع أكثر من 75 رئيس بلدية ونواب رؤساء بلديات وغيرهم من القادة المحليين، الحاليين والسابقين، من مجموعة من السياقات والمناطق الجغرافية.

استفادت وحدة الإدارة أيضًا من عدة سنوات من الخبرة في العمل مباشرة مع رؤساء البلديات من جميع أنحاء العالم بشأن منع الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب والاستجابة لها.


مقدمة

أليسون سيلبربيرج، عمدة الإسكندرية السابق، فيرجينيا، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية (2016 — 2019)

“.ليس المهم ما إذا كان سيحدث شيء ما، بل متى

من المؤكد أن هذا البيان الاستفزازي لفت انتباهي عندما جلست مع 15 عمدة جديدا آخر في مدرسة نيو ماورز في كلية كينيدي للإدارة الحكومية بجامعة هارفارد في أواخر عام 2015 ــ قبل شهر واحد فقط من أداء اليمين بوصفي العمدة الثامن والثمانين لمدينة الإسكندرية (فيرجينيا). بعد كل حادثة عنف مأساوية بدافع الكراهية أو التطرف، يقول الناس في كثير من الأحيان: “لا أستطيع أن أصدق أن هذا حدث هنا في مدينتي. لم أتوقع قط أن يحدث هذا هنا». لكن الحقيقة المؤسفة هي أن هذا يمكن أن يحدث في أي مكان وفي أي وقت.

ويتعين على رؤساء البلديات، سواء المنتخبين حديثاً أو الذين خدموا لفترة طويلة، أن يكونوا مستعدين.

أليسون سيلبربيرج، عمدة الإسكندرية السابق، فيرجينيا، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية (2016 – 2019)

تتمثل مهمة دليل شبكة المدن القوية لرؤساء البلديات لمنع الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب والاستجابة لها في مساعدتكم كرؤساء بلديات وقادة محليين للمدن حول العالم لوقف المد المتصاعد من الكراهية والتضليل والتطرف العنيف والاستبداد.

يشارك هذا الدليل طرقًا لمساعدتك في دعم المؤسسات الديمقراطية والمجتمع المدني الذي يخدم مجتمعاتك. عدم الاستعداد هو خطة وهو خطة للفشل. يعد هذا الدليل استباقيًا وعمليًا، حيث يوفر لرؤساء البلديات خريطة طريق لإعداد مدنهم ومجتمعاتهم: فهو من إعداد رؤساء البلديات ومن أجلهم .

يهدف هذا الدليل إلى أن يكون شخصيًا. كونك عمدة هو أمر شخصي. كعمدة، أنت تعرف مجتمعك وتهتم به بشدة. يلجأ إليك السكان لتقديم الخدمات وحل المشكلات. إن التركيز على الوقاية والاستعداد في حالة ظهور أزمة ما هو مسؤولية حاسمة تقع على عاتقنا، كرؤساء بلديات. نحن نجهز مجتمعاتنا لتكون قادرة على الصمود. ونحن، كرؤساء بلديات، يمكننا أن نساعد بعضنا البعض.

التقت شبكة المدن القوية مع رؤساء البلديات الحاليين والسابقين والقادة المحليين في جميع أنحاء العالم، للتعرف على كيفية استجابتهم للتهديدات. لقد قمنا أيضًا باستطلاع رأي رؤساء البلديات، ويعكس هذا الدليل الكثير مما تعلمناه خلال هذه التوعية: الدروس وأفضل الممارسات من زملائنا رؤساء البلديات.

أنا متحمس لمشاركتها لأنه في صباح هادئ من شهر يوليو من عام 2017، بعد مرور 18 شهرًا على تولي منصب عمدة المدينة، حدث ذلك في مدينتي. وبدون سابق إنذار، فتح مسلح، كان قد سافر إلى مدينتي الإسكندرية من ولاية أخرى على بعد ساعات، النار على ملعب للبيسبول حيث كان أعضاء الكونجرس الأميركي ومساعدوهم وآخرون يتدربون على مباراة بيسبول خيرية سنوية.

كان أعضاء الكونجرس وغيرهم في الملعب يضربون ويلتقطون الكرات في دقيقة واحدة ثم تم إطلاق النار عليهم في الدقيقة التالية. اشتبك ضابطان من شرطة الكابيتول الأمريكية، كانا مع أعضاء الكونجرس، مع المسلح على الفور. وصل ثلاثة ضباط من قسم شرطة الإسكندرية خلال دقيقتين. وقتل الضباط الخمسة معًا المسلح في معركة شرسة بالأسلحة النارية. وأصيب خمسة أشخاص في الميدان، من بينهم أعضاء في الكونجرس وضابط، بجروح خطيرة على يد المسلح. وأصيب آخرون بجروح أقل خطورة. وبأعجوبة، نجا الجميع. تصرفت جميع فرق السلامة العامة بسرعة وشجاعة. وكانت مدينتي وبلدي ممتنتين للغاية.

بعد إطلاق النار، أرسل رئيس الشرطة لدينا ضباطًا وغيرهم من المستجيبين الأوائل لإجراء فحص اجتماعي من باب إلى باب في الأحياء المجاورة. بعد ظهر ذلك اليوم، مشينا أنا ورئيس الشرطة ورئيس الإطفاء والشريف معًا في الحي الأقرب إلى مكان إطلاق النار لطمأنة السكان بأنهم آمنون. نظم العديد من الزعماء الدينيين في مدينتنا وقفات احتجاجية على ضوء الشموع في جميع أنحاء مدينتنا.

في تلك الليلة، سارنا كمجتمع في الشارع الرئيسي للحي الذي وقع فيه إطلاق النار. لقد اجتمع مجتمعنا ووقف بقوة.

لقد كنت فخورًا جدًا بمدينتنا وأعربت عن امتنان المدينة لنسائنا ورجالنا الشجعان الذين خدموا بشجاعة كبيرة في ذلك الصباح، وأننا، كمجتمع، كنا نصلي من أجل المصابين. قلت بشكل قاطع أن هذه الحادثة لا تحدد هويتنا.

كان هناك العديد من الأبطال. وكانت البوابة التي بدأ فيها مطلق النار إطلاق النار مغلقة. أنقذت تلك البوابة المغلقة الأرواح لأنها منعت مطلق النار من دخول الملعب في ذلك المكان. علمت بعد أسبوع أن أحد موظفي إدارة الحدائق يتحقق كل ليلة (بمحض إرادته بعد يوم عمله!) للتأكد من إغلاق هذه البوابة. لقد كان هذا بمثابة تذكير مذهل بأن موظفي المدينة بحاجة إلى معرفة أن دورهم على أي مستوى مهم وأن مدينتنا تعتمد عليهم وتشعر بالامتنان. إن إحساس موظفي مدينتنا بالمهمة أمر بالغ الأهمية.

فيما يلي خمس نصائح لأي عمدة:

أولاً، قم بإعداد فريقك. لقد بدأت فترة ولايتي بتمرين الطاولة 3 ، والذي طلبته فور توليي منصبي. لقد قمت بقيادة اجتماع لكبار الموظفين في مدينتنا وجميع قيادة فريق السلامة العامة للتأكد من أن الموظفين الرئيسيين يعرفون دورهم في حالة الطوارئ وأن لديهم معلومات الاتصال الحالية لبعضهم البعض لأنه في حالة حدوث أزمة، في هذه الأدوار يجب أن يعرفوا ما يجب عليهم فعله وكيفية الوصول إلى بعضهم البعض على الفور. ليس هناك وقت للذهاب إلى مكتبك وإخراج ملف من الرف لمعرفة ما يجب فعله أو بمن تتصل به. ثواني مهمة. بغض النظر عن مستواهم، يجب على جميع موظفي المدينة أن يعرفوا أن دورهم مهم، وتقع على عاتق رئيس البلدية مسؤولية ضمان قيامهم بذلك.

ثانيًا، التواصل مع المجتمعات المحلية في جميع أنحاء المدينة بشكل استباقي. لا تنتظر حتى حدوث أزمة للقيام بذلك. وكما اقترح عمدة بوسطن آنذاك مارتي والش في الندوة، قمت بإنشاء مجلس لرجال الدين في وقت مبكر من ولايتي مع القادة الدينيين في مجتمعنا. في غضون ساعات من إطلاق النار، نظم العديد من رجال الدين وقفات احتجاجية على ضوء الشموع في جميع أنحاء المدينة في تلك الليلة لمساعدة السكان على التجمع وإيجاد القوة للتعامل مع صدمة هذا العنف. ويساعد المجلس الذي يجمع الزعماء الدينيين من مختلف المجتمعات على بناء القدرة على الصمود.

ثالثا، أن تكون شاملة. في وقت مبكر من ولايتي، قمت بصياغة بيان مدينتنا بشأن الشمولية ، والذي وافق عليه مجلس المدينة. تم نشر هذا البيان في جميع أنحاء المدينة. الشمول يبني المرونة. الوقت المناسب لتحديد من أنت كمجتمع ليس بعد وقوع حادث.

من المهم التحدث علناً بسرعة ضد التضليل والكراهية بجميع أشكالها، بغض النظر عن هدفها. عندما تم نشر منشورات عنصرية في منتصف الليل في الإسكندرية، أدنت هذا الفعل على الفور، وقلت إنه لا يعكس قيم مدينتنا، التي ترتكز على الشمولية.

رابعا، كن مستمعا نشطا. كنت أعقد شهريًا جلسات قهوة مفتوحة للجميع في المجتمع، حيث جلسنا في دائرة، وشاركني السكان همومهم وأفكارهم. لقد كان متاحًا لي وهنا للمساعدة.

خامساً، التواصل والشفافية. بعد إطلاق النار، أرسلت عبر البريد الإلكتروني بيانًا رسميًا وتحديثات أخرى وكتبت عمودًا في الصحف المحلية. كرئيس للبلدية، أعطيت الأولوية للالتزام القوي بتعزيز التواصل والشفافية والمشاركة المدنية.

أدرك أن كل مدينة وكل حادثة مختلفة. ومع ذلك، بعد تبادل الخبرات مع رؤساء البلديات الآخرين الذين وقعوا في أزمات تحمل بعض التشابه مع تلك التي واجهتها، أعتقد أن هناك نقاط قرار سيواجهها كل زعيم محلي وأسئلة سيحتاج إلى طرحها ليكون مستعدًا قدر الإمكان. من الممكن منع وقوع حادث والاستجابة بفعالية في حالة وقوعه.

دليل المدن القوية لرؤساء البلديات – الأول من نوعه – موجود لمساعدتك ولمساعدة مجتمعك على أن تكون أكثر استعدادًا وأكثر استجابة وأكثر مرونة. معًا، يمكننا أن نساعد بعضنا البعض لكي نصبح أقوى وأكثر أمانًا.

وهذا جزء من مهمتنا الأساسية كقادة وأساس مهمة المدن القوية .


مقدمة

عادة ما يُنظر إلى الكراهية والتطرف، خاصة عندما يتجليان في أعمال عنف، على أنهما من قضايا الأمن القومي. وقد قاد القادة الوطنيون والحكومات المركزية المحادثات حول أفضل السبل لمنع هذه التهديدات والرد عليها، مع التركيز في كثير من الأحيان على الاستفادة من أدوات إنفاذ القانون والاستخبارات والأدوات العسكرية لمعالجة مظاهر العنف. وليس من المستغرب أنه نادرًا ما يُنظر إلى رؤساء البلديات على أنهم ذوو صلة بهذه المناقشات وبالتالي يتم تضمينهم فيها. في كثير من الأحيان، لا يشارك القادة المحليون بنشاط إلا في أعقاب الهجوم، بما في ذلك الدفاع عن احتياجات وأولويات مجتمعاتهم المتضررة من العنف.

ومع ذلك، تشير الدروس المستفادة إلى الأهمية المتزايدة لرؤساء البلديات في معالجة هذه التهديدات، والتي تمتد إلى ما هو أبعد من مواسات الناجين وأسرهم. أصبحت هذه التهديدات محلية بشكل متزايد: تستخدم الجماعات المتطرفة المظالم السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية المحلية لتجنيد وتعبئة الآخرين، وأصبح الخط الفاصل بين التهديدات عبر الإنترنت والضرر خارج الإنترنت أكثر ضبابية من أي وقت مضى. إن تطور التهديد يتطلب اتباع نهج أكثر لامركزية للتصدي له. وينبغي أن يشمل ذلك المشاركة المباشرة للقادة المحليين الذين يفهمون مدنهم ويستطيعون تمثيلها على مستوى لا يستطيع صانعو السياسات الوطنية القيام به.

إن قرب رئيس البلدية من الناس في مدينته يمكّنه من فهم مخاوف السكان. وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن وصولهم ومساءلتهم كمسؤولين منتخبين محلياً يمنحهم نفوذاً وبصيرة فريدة ــ وربما حتى تفويضاً ضمنياً ــ لخلق هوية مدينة شاملة يستطيع من خلالها أن يشعر جميع السكان بالارتباط. كما، لدى رؤساء البلديات فرصة فريدة ليس فقط للمساهمة في أعقاب الهجوم ولكن لدفع الجهود لبناء مدينة مرنة ومتماسكة اجتماعيًا يصعب فيها ترسيخ الكراهية والتطرف والحد من التداعيات إذا أصبحت مخاوف ذات بصيرة.

نظرة عامة على الدليل

يمكن أن يمتد دور رئيس البلدية في معالجة الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب من متابعة جهود الوقاية بشكل استباقي. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك، على سبيل المثال، التعامل مع المجتمعات أو السكان الأفراد مما يزيد من صعوبة ظهور هذه التهديدات في مدينتهم ويزيد من قدرة مدينتهم على الصمود، مما يضمن استعداد المدينة للاستجابة في حالة وقوع حادث، و/أو قيادة الاستجابة في أعقاب ذلك
إذا حدث العنف. على الرغم من أن نطاق ولاية العمدة وسلطته من المحتمل أن يختلف اعتمادًا على السياق المحلي، بشكل عام، يمكن أن يشمل دور العمدة، من بين أمور أخرى :

  • الاستفادة من مهارات الاتصال الخاصة بهم ومنصة مكاتبهم للوصول إلى جميع أنحاء المدينة.
  • الإشراف والتنسيق بين الإدارات والخدمات الحكومية المحلية المختلفة.
  • الاستفادة من العلاقات مع الناخبين والمنظمات المحلية في جميع أنحاء المدينة.
  • قيادة الأولويات والسياسات والبرامج وتخصيص الموارد على مستوى المدينة.

هناك العديد من المكونات المطلوبة لرئيس البلدية للقيام بهذا الدور بفعالية.

  • يبدأ هذا بالالتزام بإعطاء الأولوية للوقاية إلى جانب (أو كجزء من) أولوياتهم البلدية الأكثر تقليدية، على سبيل المثال، سواء كانت تتعلق بالسلامة العامة والرفاهية الاجتماعية والتخطيط الحضري والتعليم.
  • لتحقيق هذه الأولوية، سيحتاج عمدة المدينة عادة إلى الإشراف على مزيج مخصص من السياسات والأطر الاستراتيجية؛ آلية تنسيق أو آلية أخرى لمواءمة أنشطة مختلف الوكالات الحكومية المحلية، والشركاء المجتمعيين، وعند الضرورة، الحكومة المركزية؛ والالتزام المستمر ببناء قدرات الجهات الحكومية المحلية ومجموعة من أصحاب المصلحة المجتمعيين الذين يمكنهم العمل كشركاء في جعل مدينتهم أكثر أمانًا وأكثر سلامًا وأكثر مرونة في مواجهة الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب.

وهو دور متعدد الأبعاد وصعب في كثير من الأحيان، ولكنه دور يتولى القيام به كل يوم عدد متزايد من القادة المحليين في مختلف أنحاء العالم. ويهدف هذا الدليل إلى دعم رؤساء البلديات في هذا الجهد وتمكين المزيد من الانضمام إليهم. فهو يجمع تجارب أكثر من 75 قائدًا محليًا من سياقات ومناطق جغرافية مختلفة لتقديم الممارسات الجيدة والدروس المستفادة والأمثلة والتوصيات للمساعدة في توجيه وإلهام رؤساء البلديات للتحضير لمجموعة متنوعة من التحديات ومواجهتها.

ينقسم الدليل إلى ثلاثة أقسام لدعم رؤساء البلديات في مراحل مختلفة من ولايتهم:

  • الإعداد: اعتبارات الوقاية والاستجابة عند دخول المكتب
  • الوقاية: بناء مجتمعات قادرة على الصمود
  • الاستجابة: تنسيق الاستجابة في أعقاب حادث متطرف عنيف مباشرة وإدارة التداعيات على المدى المتوسط ​​والطويل.

يهدف الدليل إلى مساعدة رؤساء البلديات أثناء قيامهم بدراسة التحديات الملحة التي تواجه السلام والاندماج في مدنهم وإلهامهم لاستكشاف حلول جديدة استجابة للاتجاهات المتطورة وأولويات سكانهم. ينبغي النظر في الأمثلة والتوصيات التالية في ضوء السياق الفريد الذي يقود فيه العمدة ويتكيف مع أولويات مدينته واحتياجاتها وفرصها وقيودها.

لقد تم تقديم جميع الاقتباسات والتوجيهات والتوصيات في هذا الدليل من قبل رؤساء البلديات وغيرهم من المسؤولين المحليين، مما يعكس دور رئيس البلدية في معالجة الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب. لقد طلب الكثيرون أن تُنسب مساهمتهم إلى مدينتهم وليس إلى أنفسهم، وهو الطلب الذي احترمته المدن القوية.

ماذا نعني بالكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب؟

لا يوجد تعريف عالمي لكل من هذه المفاهيم، ويجب أن يكون النهج المتبع في كل مدينة مصممًا بما يتناسب مع السياق القانوني المحلي وأن يرتكز على حقوق الإنسان وسيادة القانون. تمثل الكراهية والتطرف والاستقطاب – في أبسط صورها – تحديات اجتماعية تقوض التماسك الاجتماعي، مما قد يؤدي إلى العنف ويكون له آثار طويلة المدى على النسيج الاجتماعي والاقتصادي للمدينة. سواء أكان الأمر يتعلق بالتعصب بين المجتمعات المحلية و”الاختلاف”، أو مشاعر عدم الانتماء، أو الانقسام الشامل المتزايد بين المجتمعات المختلفة في المدينة، أو – في أوضح صوره – العنف بدافع الكراهية أو التطرف، فإن هذه التهديدات لها مظاهر متعددة وأسباب متعددة. .

تشير المدن القوية إلى هذه القضايا معًا اعترافًا بأن هذه القضايا الثلاثة هي دوافع وعواقب للفوارق الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية والتهميش وعدم الاستقرار والعنف، وأن القضايا الثلاثة جميعها تتطلب بالضرورة استجابة محلية تعالج المظالم السياقية التي قد تغذيها.

١ ٢ ٣ ٤ ٥ ٦

تمت ترجمة محتوى هذا الموقع تلقائيًا باستخدام WPML . للإبلاغ عن الأخطاء ، أرسل لنا بريدًا إلكترونيًا .

arrow-circle arrow-down-basicarrow-down arrow-left-small arrow-left arrow-right-small arrow-right arrow-up arrow closefacebooklinkedinsearch twittervideo-icon

A Guide for Mayors: Preventing and Responding to Hate, Extremism & Polarisation

Last updated:
01/02/2024
Publication Date:
13/09/2023
Content Type:

1 2 3 4 5 6

Last updated: 12/09/2023

Acknowledgements

The Strong Cities Network Management Unit would like to thank the many mayors and other city officials who contributed to this Guide through interviews, discussions and surveys, or during Strong Cities activities. Special thanks to the Honourable Allison Silberberg, former mayor of Alexandria, Virginia, United States (2016 – 2019), who provided critical guidance and support throughout the drafting of this Guide. 

This publication was made possible by generous support from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the European Union and the US Department of State. The views expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the Strong Cities Network membership in its entirety nor of Strong Cities donors or other partners. The views expressed do not necessarily those of the Strong Cities Network’s membership in its entirety nor its donors, partners and supporters. 

Institute for Strategic Dialogue (ISD)

The Institute for Strategic Dialogue (ISD) worked with mayors and government partners to launch Strong Cities at a meeting during the opening of the UN General Assembly in 2015. Since then, ISD has expanded and supported Strong Cities membership and has delivered its programming. ISD continues to host the Management Unit and contributes its research and expertise to meet the policy and practice needs of cities and local governments around the world.

About this guide

The Strong Cities Network has been working closely with mayors1 globally since its launch in 2015 to enhance local leadership in preventing and responding to hate, extremism and polarisation2. During this time, many local leaders have spoken about how unprepared and unsupported they felt to address these issues in their cities and respond in the event of an attack. They have also pointed to the limited opportunities to learn from other mayors who have led their cities through such incidents. 

Mayors have shared a wide range of challenges. For some, they begin by acknowledging that addressing hate and extremism are (or were) not a priority for them, either because they were not regarded as immediate threats or the mayors were not aware of the role they can play when they are. Others face technical challenges, limited mandates and a lack of knowledge, experience and resources for dealing with these challenges. 

Although the specific threats may differ from city to city, Strong Cities has heard from mayors globally that they need more guidance on the range of preventative measures that can minimise the likelihood of a hate or extremism-motivated attack or related incident from taking place and considerations for mitigating the damage (whether social, economic, or political) that it can inflict on a city. Mayors have also shared that they want more opportunities to learn from their counterparts, particularly those who have led their city through such crises. 

This Guide captures these experiences and packages them in an accessible way for mayors and other local leaders working in all contexts, whether they are entering office for the first time or working to make addressing hate and extremism a greater priority in their city. 

The purpose of this Guide is to help prepare mayors to address threats from hate, extremism and polarisation, and the misinformation, disinformation and conspiracy narratives that increasingly fuel them. It emphasises both the importance of being proactive by taking preventative measures to build socially cohesive and resilient cities and responding in a way that minimises the social, economic and other fallout that can result if and when these threats manifest in violence. This Guide does this by:

  • Addressing key questions mayors might have about dealing with these challenges, whether while preparing to take office or performing their duties.
  • Exploring key decision points for mayors in pursuit of prevention and response when these threats manifest in violence.
  • Sharing relevant good practices and lessons learned from other mayors, including those related to building resilient and cohesive cities in various contexts.

By Mayors for Mayors 

This Guide draws on the experiences and recommendations of mayors to reflect on their unique role in addressing an increasingly localised and interconnected set of threats. To develop this Guide, the Strong Cities Network Management Unit surveyed, interviewed and conducted panel and roundtable discussions with more than 75 mayors, deputy mayors and other local leaders, both current and former, from a range of contexts and geographies.

The Management Unit also drew from several years of experience working directly with mayors from around the globe on preventing and responding to hate, extremism and polarisation. 


Foreword

Allison Silberberg, Former Mayor of Alexandria, Virginia, USA (2016 — 2019) 

“It is not a matter of if something will happen, but when.”

This provocative statement certainly got my attention as I sat with 15 other new mayors at New Mayors School at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government in late 2015 – only a month before my swearing-in as the 88th Mayor of Alexandria (Virginia). After each tragic incident of hate- or extremism-motivated violence, people often say: “I cannot believe this happened here in my town. I never expected this could happen here.” The unfortunate reality, however, is that this can happen anywhere at any time.  

Mayors, whether newly elected or long-serving, need to be prepared.

Allison Silberberg, Former Mayor of Alexandria, Virginia, USA (2016 – 2019)

 

The mission of this Strong Cities Network Guide for Mayors for Preventing and Responding to Hate, Extremism & Polarisation is to help you as the mayors and local leaders of cities around the world to stem the rising tide of hate, disinformation, violent extremism and authoritarianism. 

This Guide shares ways to help you shore up democratic institutions and civil society that are serving your communities. Not preparing is a plan and is a plan for failure. This Guide is proactive and practical, providing mayors with a roadmap for preparing their cities and communities: it is by mayors and for mayors.

This Guide is intended to be personal. Being mayor is personal. As a mayor, you know your community and care deeply about it. Residents turn to you to provide services and solve problems. Being focused on prevention and being prepared if a crisis unfolds is a crucial responsibility that we, as mayors, have. We are preparing our communities to be resilient. And we, as mayors, can help each other.

The Strong Cities Network met with current and former mayors and local leaders around the world, learning how they respond to threats. We also surveyed mayors, and this Guide reflects much of what we learned during this outreach: lessons and best practices from our fellow mayors.

I am passionate about sharing them because, on a quiet July morning in 2017, 18 months into my mayoral term, the when happened in my city. Without warning, a gunman, who had travelled to my city of Alexandria from another state hours away, opened fire on a baseball field where members of the US Congress, their aides, and others were practising for an annual  charity baseball game. 

Congressional members and others on the field were hitting and catching balls one minute and were shot the next. Two US Capitol Police officers, who were with the members of Congress, immediately engaged the gunman. Three officers from the Alexandria Police Department arrived within two minutes. Together, the five officers killed the gunman in a fierce gunfight. Five people on the field, including members of Congress and one officer, were seriously wounded by the gunman. Others suffered less severe injuries. Miraculously, all survived. All public safety teams acted swiftly and bravely. My city and our country were and are deeply grateful.

After the shooting, our Police Chief sent officers and other first responders to conduct a door-to-door welfare check in the adjoining neighbourhoods. That afternoon, the Police Chief, Fire Chief, Sheriff and I walked together in the neighbourhood closest to the shooting to assure residents they were safe. Several of our city’s religious leaders organised candlelight vigils across our city. 

That night, as a community, we marched down the main street of the neighbourhood where the shooting had occurred. Our community came together and stood strong. 

I was so proud of our city and expressed the city’s gratitude for our brave women and men who served so courageously that morning and that we, as a community, were praying for those injured. I said emphatically that this incident does not define us.

There were many heroes. The gate where the shooter had begun shooting was locked. That locked gate saved lives because it prevented the shooter from entering the field at that spot. I learned a week later that a Parks Department staffer checks each night (of his own volition well after his workday!) to ensure this gate is locked. This was a stunning reminder that the city staff needs to know that their role at any level matters and that our city is counting on them and is grateful. Our city staff’s sense of mission is crucial.

Here are my five takeaways for any mayor:

First, prepare your team. I began my term with a tabletop3 exercise, which I requested immediately upon taking office. I led a meeting of our city’s senior staff and all the public safety team leadership to ensure that key personnel knew their role in case of an emergency and that they had the current contact information for each other because, in the event of a crisis, people in these roles must know what to do and how to reach each other instantly. There is no time to go to your office and grab a binder off the shelf to figure out what to do or whom to call. Seconds matter. Regardless of level, all city staff must know that their role matters, and it is the mayor’s responsibility to ensure they do.

Second, engage with communities across the city proactively. Don’t wait until a crisis to do so. As then-Mayor Marty Walsh of Boston suggested at the seminar, I created a Clergy Council early in my term with the faith leaders of our community. Within hours of the shooting, many clergy organised candlelight vigils across the city that night to help residents gather and find the strength to deal with the shock of such violence. A council that brings together religious leaders from across communities helps build resilience.

Third, be inclusive. Early in my term, I drafted our city’s Statement on Inclusiveness, which the City Council approved. That statement was posted across the city. Inclusiveness builds resilience. The time to define who you are as a community is not after an incident.

It is important to speak out swiftly against disinformation and hate in all forms, regardless of its target. When racist flyers were posted in the middle of the night in Alexandria, I immediately condemned the act, stating that it did not reflect our city’s values, which are grounded in inclusiveness.

Fourth, be an active listener. I held monthly, open-to-all coffees in the community, where we sat in a circle, and the residents shared their concerns and ideas with me. I was accessible and here to help.

Fifth, communicate and be transparent. After the shooting, I emailed an official statement and other updates and authored a column in the local papers. As mayor, I prioritised a staunch commitment to prompt communication, transparency and civic engagement.

I recognise that every city and every incident is different. However, having shared experiences with other mayors who were thrust into crises that bear some similarity to the one I had faced, I believe that there are decision points that every local leader will confront and questions that they will need to ask to be as prepared as possible to prevent an incident from occurring and respond effectively should it unfold.

This Strong Cities’ Guide for Mayors – the first of its kind – is here to help you and your community be more prepared, more responsive and more resilient. Together, we can help each other become stronger and safer. 

This is part of our core mission as leaders and the foundation of the Strong Cities mission.


Introduction

Hate and extremism, particularly when they manifest in violence, have typically been viewed as national security issues. National leaders and central governments have driven conversations about how best to prevent and respond to these threats, often emphasising leveraging law enforcement, intelligence and military tools to address violent manifestations. Not surprisingly, mayors have rarely been seen as relevant to and thus included in these discussions. It is often only in the aftermath of an attack that local leaders have become actively involved, including advocating for the needs and priorities of their communities affected by the violence.  

Yet, lessons learned point to the growing relevance of mayors in addressing these threats, extending well beyond the consoler of survivors and their families. These threats are becoming increasingly localised: extremist groups are using local political, social and economic grievances to recruit and mobilise others, and the line between online threats and offline harm is becoming more blurred than ever. The evolution of the threat necessitates a more decentralised approach to address it. This should include the direct involvement of local leaders who understand and can represent their cities on a level that national policy makers cannot. 

A mayor’s proximity to the people in their city enables them to understand residents’ concerns. At the same time, their access and accountability as a locally-elected official gives them unique influence and insight – and perhaps even an implicit mandate – to create an inclusive city identity through which all residents can feel connected. As such, mayors have a unique opportunity to not only contribute in the aftermath of an attack but to drive efforts to build a resilient and socially cohesive city in which it is more difficult for hate and extremism to take root and limit the fallout should they become prescient concerns.

Guide Overview

A mayor’s role in addressing hate, extremism and polarisation can extend from proactively pursuing prevention efforts. This can involve, for example, engaging with communities or individual residents that make it more difficult for these threats to emerge in their city and heighten their city’s resilience, ensuring the city is ready to respond if an incident occurs, and/or leading the response in the aftermath
if violence does occur. Although the scope of a mayor’s mandate and authority will likely vary depending on the local context, in general terms, the mayor’s role can involve, inter alia:

  • Leveraging their communication skills and their office’s platform to reach all parts of the city.
  • Overseeing and coordinating different local government departments and services.
  • Tapping into relationships with constituents and local organisations around the city.
  • Driving city-level priorities, policies, programmes and resource allocation. 

There are several ingredients required for a mayor to fulfil this role effectively. 

  • This starts with a commitment to prioritise prevention alongside (or as part of) their more traditional mayoral priorities, for example, whether related to public safety, social well-being, urban planning and education.  
  • To deliver on this priority, a mayor will typically need to oversee a tailored mix of policies and strategic frameworks; a coordination or other mechanism for aligning the activities of different local government agencies, community-based partners and, where necessary, the central government; and a sustained commitment to building the capacities of local government actors and a range of community-based stakeholders who can act as partners in making their city safer, more peaceful and more resilient to hate, extremism and polarisation. 

It is a multidimensional and often difficult role, but one that a growing number of local leaders around the world are assuming every day. This Guide aims to support mayors in this effort and enable more to join them. It gathers the experiences of more than 75 local leaders from different contexts and geographies to present good practices, lessons learned, examples and recommendations to help guide and inspire mayors to prepare for and face a variety of challenges. 

The Guide is divided into three sections to support mayors at different stages of their term:

  • Preparation: considerations for prevention and response when entering office
  • Prevention: building resilient communities
  • Response: coordinating a response in the immediate aftermath of a violent extremist incident and managing fallout in the medium- and long-term.

The Guide is intended to aid mayors as they examine the pressing challenges to peace and inclusion in their cities and inspire them to explore new solutions in response to evolving trends and the priorities of their residents. The following examples and recommendations should be considered in light of the unique context in which a mayor leads and adapted to meet their city’s priorities, needs, opportunities and limitations.

The quotes, guidance and recommendations throughout this Guide have all been provided by mayors and other local officials, reflecting on the role of a mayor in addressing hate, extremism and polarisation. Many have asked that their contribution be attributed to their city rather than themselves, a request Strong Cities has respected. 

What do we mean by hate, extremism and polarisation?

There is no universal definition for each of these concepts and each city’s approach needs to be tailored to the local legal context and grounded in human rights and the rule of law. Hate, extremism and polarisation are – at their most basic – social challenges that undermine social cohesion, which can lead to violence and have long-term impacts on a city’s socio-economic fabric. Whether it is inter-community intolerance and ‘othering’, feelings of non-belonging, an overall growing divide between a city’s different communities or – at its most explicit – hate- or extremism-motivated violence, these threats have multiple manifestations and multiple causes. 

Strong Cities refers to these issues together in recognition that all three are both drivers and consequences of social, economic and political disparities and marginalisation, instability and violence, and that all three necessarily require a localised response that addresses the contextual grievances that may fuel them. 

1 2 3 4 5 6

Downloads

Last updated: 12/09/2023

Related Resources