Together For Safety Series 2022

Nordic Safe Cities and the Strong Cities Network are pleased to team up again this year for our #TogetherForSafety2022 webinars. On Thursday 7 April we will be launching the second in our series of online public events to explore global solutions to hate, polarisation and extremism. Registration to attend is now open.


This session will examine what cities can do to inspire each other and ensure a horizontal knowledge-sharing approach to extremism prevention. The session will look at three different levels: national, regional and local alliances, with a particular focus on building local resilience and social cohesion through engaging CSOs.

Speakers

Session 1: The Value of Networks: Ensuring Safety through Partnerships and Alliances

  • Mustapha Moufid, General Manager African Capital Of Culture (ACOC), United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCGL-A)
  • Mikewa Ogada, Research Consultant, Security and Justice
  • Marc Elxnat, Head of Unit, Cyber ​​Security, German Association of Towns and Municipalities (DStGB)

Session 2: Overcoming Local Challenges: How Networks Can Find Innovative Solutions

  • Ghayda Hassan, Director, Canada Practitioners Network for the Prevention of Radicalization and Extremist Violence (CPN-PREV)
  • Ingrid Lorange, Director, Gjensidige Foundation, Safe City Norway
  • Brette Steele, Senior Director, Preventing Targeted Violence, McCain Institute for International Leadership

Session 3: Building Local Resilience: The Role of Civic Partnerships

  • Rehema Zaid Obuyi, Researcher, Integrated Initiatives for Community Empowerment (IICCP)
  • Andjelija Lucic, Program Manager, Forum MNE
  • Hanna Kivimäki, Former General Secretary, The Union of Local Youth Councils, Finland
Thursday 7 April 2022
09:00 Washington DC
14:00 London
15:00 Copenhagen
16:00 Nairobi
18:30 New Delhi
21:00 Manila

Register here




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.